My First Attempt At Pho

Pho, the tasty Vietnamese noodle soup, is something I am embarrassed to admit I didn’t try until I recently moved to California.  Ok, that’s sort of a lie.  I tried it at a place in Silver Spring but hated it so swore it off for good.  Fast-forward a couple of years on a rainy evening in San Jose and I find myself craving Ramen only to get to the so-called best Ramen place South Bay to find out they don’t allow take out.  I called my dear friend CL to ask where can I get a noodle soup and she suggested this Pho place.  I decided to not use the Silver Spring place as a barometer for all things Pho and give it another shot.  I picked up Pho to go from Pho-Khang and never looked back.

I’ve discovered the secret to this bone-warming soup is in the broth.  It HAS to be right.  I scoured dozens of recipes online- no set standard and, in my usual style, decided to take some elements and wing it.

I bought a package of local oxtail at Lunardi’s, some veggies and star anise and was on my way.  I was going to make the best Pho a girl-on-her-first-time-ever-after-only-eating-it-about-5-times-and-reading-about-it-even-less could make.  (It turns out more promising than it sounds.)

I have to say the broth turned out to be quite fantastic.  Really, it did.  Unfortunately I made the fatal flaw of purchasing the wrong noodles and they soaked 85% of the broth up.  Don’t do that.  Do not use bean thread noodles, it will not work.

So, in actuality I’m giving you a recipe for Pho broth, not the actual completed dish, but if you know anything about Pho you know it’s a self-serving dining experience where you add what you like.  So here it goes…here is the broth, and add what you like.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs. oxtail, 2 inch sections

1 large yellow onion, halved

1 large carrot, chopped into 1 inch chunks

1 cinnamon stick

3 whole star anise

2 1/1 inch nub of whole, fresh ginger

4 whole cloves

1 teaspoon ground cardamom

6 cups of water

olive Oil

Salt & Pepper to taste

Siracha, to taste

Preheat oven to 450F.  Drizzle about 2 Tablespoons of olive oil in the bottom of a dutch oven.  Add the oxtail, onions and olive oil and place in the oven.  Brown, about 20 minutes.  Remove and place the dutch oven on the stove-top.  Add the water and cardamom.  Place the cinnamon, star anise and cloves inside an infuser or cheesecloth and submerge.  Place on stovetop over medium-low heat.  Simmer without boiling over for at least 2 hours.

Remove from heat.  Remove spice pouch and discard.  Remove meat, bones  and vegetables (for future use or discard, but I recommend for future use.)  Strain broth thoroughly.

Add noodles, sprouts, Siracha, salt and pepper to your liking and enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Soups

Leave a comment